Social Media Platforms

Pam Moore is considered a Social Media Power Influencer. In an article published in Forbes.com on the subject, Ms. Moore was quoted in saying that she, “focuses on an integrated strategy that leverages content to connect with audiences with a goal of meeting both life and business objectives.” Her key focuses for respective social media platforms, respectively, are:

“Blog: Provide the best possible content I can to inspire and connect with target audiences.

“Twitter: Enables me to reach a large network of folks who enjoy and share my content with their friends. Also enables me to build communities that are taken offline and on to other social networks for further nurturing.

“LinkedIn: Where people validate what I do, what I have done and who I am.

“Facebook: Enables me to more intimately connect with people via my personal Facebook page, business page and private groups.

“YouTube: Similar to my blog but in video format. It was a key success contributor while in startup mode.

“Google+: Similar to all of the above but enables me to connect with my most favorite, geeky friends.
I get the highest number of qualified leads from LinkedIn. … The growth of this network has been 100% organic and a spill over from past employers, other social networks and life!

“TweetChats: I host #GetRealChat on Tuesday 9pm ET. … It enables me to connect with brands as well as give back to the community who has helped me. ….”

I have long stated that my profiles, though so much more limited than Ms. Moore’s, are similar in nature or purpose. While friends and relatives might crossover to the work place, I see little reason to have the same connections in each venue. One might consider cross-referencing a Blog of Video in a LinkedIn, Twitter or even Facebook profile, but to duplicate content across the board is not inspiring to the reader. My friends are about as interested in the latest APP I’ve discovered as my business associates are in looking at photos of my dog or a recent costume party I attended. Regardless, no one is interested in Tweets that I, “Just ate a bagel,” or am “Shopping in (a specific venue),” unless of course those purchases were made in a client’s venue. Of course, I would hash tag the location.

There are some topics that I do believe are good crossover content. Current news, political commentary, social media safety and viral threats (whether real or hoax) should be cross-posted. I traditionally close by asking if the hash-tag is real or asking, “Really?” when content is so far-fetched that I don’t want to be accused of that degree of gullibility. It is akin to believing likelihood of my being offered the late-Steve Jobs’ position is as real as I can share the multi-million dollar estate of my late-husband with Nigerian royalty. For the record, A self-proclaimed Nigerian prince did, in fact, once contact me for this purpose. My very-much-alive husband disputed the account, refusing to share with both of us, so I deleted the email. In retrospect, I should have save a text copy for posterity.

Some day, I hope to replicate a network as large as Ms. Moore’s, but to what end I am not certain. I am certain, for now, that there are some connections that should move to different profiles. Eventually, I would have to contact them directly and ask them to move, or befriend me in that other profile. With an open profile, I have had people follow me on Twitter who are decidedly illicit in nature. I really don’t need 18-year-old foreign women who are looking for Meet-Ups following me. This is the part of social media safety that becomes creepy even with being smart enough to know that these profiles are not legitimate. The question becomes how to monitor and block those followers when a profile becomes that large. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I don’t believe there is a mechanism to permit or deny a follower without locking or making a Twitter account private. In the meantime, I suppose I’ll continue to individually monitor my requests for connection or following, and I will cross post when that Nigerian prince contacts me again.

About cre8dsgn

An independent graphic designer, who loves to solve problems.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

